Meditation Tape 1.jpg


Hill’s smooth tone and striking improvisation are enhanced by the trio of musicians who lay down a rich and dreamy foundation for the trumpet player. Keyboardist Brett Williams pulls tones from the Fender Rhodes that are reminiscent of R&B and dance synthesizers. All the while electric bassist and drummer Junius Paul and Makaya McCraven lock into solid beats, intentionally placing and displacing 16th notes. The musicians establish a stable sense of time, yet their playing remains light to the touch.
— All About Jazz

Track Listing: Good Morning; We Must Be One; Coming out of the Universe; The Power of Truth; Eternal Spirit; Get the Money; Towards the Light.

Personnel: Marquis Hill - Trumpet; Brett Williams - Fender Rhodes; Junius Paul - Bass; Makaya McCraven - Drums

Released: 2017